What are the two World Natural Heritage Sites in Vietnam?

Up to now, Vietnam has 8 world heritages, including 5 cultural heritages, 2 natural heritages and 1 mixed cultural and natural heritage.

The fact that these heritages are inscribed in the World Heritage List is based on 10 criteria of World Cultural and Natural Heritage, prescribed by UNESCO.

World Natural Heritage in Vietnam

1. Ha Long Bay

Ha Long Bay is located in the Northeast region of Vietnam, is a western part of the Gulf of Tonkin, including the waters of Ha Long city, Cam Pha city and part of Van Don island district. The bay has a total area of ​​1553 km2, including 1969 large and small islands, of which 989 islands have names and 980 islands have no names. Halong Bay stands out with its beautiful system of rocky islands and caves. The bay is evaluated through two factors: tectonic history and geology and geomorphology. The basic characteristics of Ha Long Bay in the past 1000 years are the encroaching sea to expand the Bay, the strong erosion of the beaches by parrots, the clearer, saltier Gulf water and the more developed corals. On December 17, 1994, during the 18th session of the UNESCO World Heritage Council, Ha Long Bay was officially recognized as a World Natural Heritage with outstanding aesthetic value.

The impression when sailing or kayaking to explore Vinh is a turquoise water and thousands of towering rocky islands with tropical forests on the top. More interesting is that their names are named after the shapes such as Ga Choi island, Yen Ngua island, Dau Be island.

READ MORE:  Ellora Caves - World Cultural Heritage in India

World natural heritage in Vietnam

2. Phong Nha Ke Bang National Park

Phong Nha Ke Bang National Park is located in the North of Truong Son mountain range with a fresh and cool climate all year round, with an average temperature of only 20 – 24°C. This place is considered one of the two largest limestone areas in the world, with an area of ​​​​over 200,000 hectares. The feature of this national park is the millions of years old karst limestone formations with more than 300 caves and a system of underground rivers. Hundreds of rare and precious species of flora and fauna exist, many of which are listed in the Red Book of Vietnam and the world, which are an inspiration for tourists and scientists.

Phong Nha Ke Bang also contains a complex and long history of geological development from 400 million years ago of the earth. Experiencing important tectonic stages and the movement phases of faults, fusion, and folds have created overlapping mountain ranges and subsided sedimentary basins. These changes have also contributed to the diversity of geology, topography and geomorphology.

Phong Nha Cave, also known as Water Cave, is the most typical scenic spot of the cave system of Phong Nha Ke Bang. Total length of 7,729 meters, 14 caves, 13,969 meters long underground river shimmering most magical and brilliant. The cave door is about 10 meters high and 25 meters wide. From above, small stalactites look like giant dew drops are melting.

3. Trang An Scenic Landscape Complex

This is a mixed heritage (both cultural and natural)

READ MORE:  Persepolis – World Cultural Heritage in Iran

With many outstanding global values ​​in terms of culture, history and geology, geomorphology, Trang An scenic complex in Ninh Binh was registered by UNESCO as a world natural and cultural heritage on June 23, 2014. . This is the first mixed heritage of Vietnam and Southeast Asia.

Trang An is a general tourist destination including cultural and natural heritages such as Trang An eco-tourism area, Tam Coc – Bich Dong tourist area, Bai Dinh pagoda, Hoa Lu ancient capital. Trang An World Heritage Complex with an area of ​​12,252 hectares brings in its unique natural scenery from mountain rocks, ecosystems, forests, vegetation, rice fields, lakes, and river cruises. Ngo Dong, Tien stream, Voc river, Sao Khe river, Den Voi river, Ben Dang river.

This place owns beautiful caves such as Thien Ha cave, Thien Thanh cave, Tien cave, But cave, Tam Coc cave, Trang An cave, Sinh Duoc cave; valuable archaeological sites such as Moi cave, Oc roof, Binh valley, Hoa Lu citadel; famous historical sites associated with 4 dynasties Dinh – Le – Ly – Tran such as Hoa Lu palace, King Dinh – King Le temple, Bich Dong pagoda, Tran temple; or other landscapes such as bird garden in Nham valley, Nang valley, Mua cave…

In addition, Vietnam also has 5 World Cultural Heritages recognized by UNESCO: Thang Long Imperial Citadel relic, Hoi An Ancient Town, Complex of Hue Monuments, Ho Dynasty Citadel, My Son Sanctuary .

See also: UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Vietnam

Increase Height Blog
Enable registration in settings - general